Facebook Twitter Instagram

Who We Are

California League of Schools serves the needs of teachers and administrators for continual professional growth. CLS invites K-12 educators into an educational culture that supports and celebrates lifelong learning for communities of K-12 educators and administrators. Through CLS, teachers and administrators build their capacities via professional development, strengthen school-community ties, and participate in supportive local educator networks. These activities help educators guide students in discovering their passions; achieving academic success; and graduating from their K-12 experiences ready for higher education, living-wage careers, and fulfilling lives.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of California League of Schools is comprised of educators throughout California, representing each of the 12 CLS regions.

About Us

Professional Development Educator of the Year Schools to Watch
California League of Schools supports California’s K-12 educators by providing in-person, online, and blended training options by educators, for educators. These relevant, cost-effective, and engaging professional learning experiences improve culture, instruction, and leadership at the classroom, school, and district levels. The CLS Educator of the Year (EOY) award is given annually to middle and high school educators, representing regions throughout California, who exemplify educational excellence and have made significant efforts to implement elements of educational reform. Nominees may be teachers, administrators, counselors, or other certificated personnel. Schools to Watch (STW) is a statewide program implemented by CLS, the CDE, CA Middle Grades Alliance, and the National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform. Each year, the program identifies middle schools that are academically excellent, developmentally responsive, socially equitable, and structured for success.

Grants Grants Awarded to CLS
CLS has won a succession of competitive federal and private grants that have placed the organization in a leadership role in guiding schools and districts toward research-based improvement in areas such as instructional leadership, English language learners, and mathematics.

Most recently, California League of Schools has been awarded a four-year National Professional Development grant from the U.S. Department of Education to help early-grades elementary school educators increase their academic language instruction and family engagement skills. Partnering with CLS in this innovative program will be Dr. Kate Kinsella and Theresa Hancock, Families In Schools, ERC, and four California school districts that serve high percentages of English learners.
2017 National Professional Development Lead Agency: CLS LEA Partners: Elk Grove USD, Hemet USD, Franklin McKinley SD, Moreno Valley USD 2012 Investing in Innovation Lead Agency: CLS LEA Partner: Moreno Valley USD 2010 School Leadership Program Lead Agency: CLS LEA Partner: Compton USD 2010 Investing in Innovation Grant Partner: CLS LEA Partners: Coalinga-Huron USD & Compton USD

CLS History
The California League of Schools (CLS) began in 1980 as the California League of Middle Schools (CLMS), an all-volunteer, grassroots middle-grades association founded by Fresno, Calif., educators in response to the national middle school movement. The first CLMS conference was held in a high school gym in 1981. As an affiliate of the National Middle School Association, CLMS then rode the groundswell of trending educator interest in middle school tenets, attracting many paying conference attendees. The organization’s clout grew, CLMS expanded statewide, and the first staff member, founding executive director Peter Murphy, was appointed in 1990. In 1994, CLMS was incorporated as a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

As understanding deepened in the field of education regarding developmental responsiveness and K-12 academic continuity, CLMS moved to support districts and schools in better articulating learning across the grade levels. The California League of High Schools (CLHS) was established in 1993, and the California League of Elementary Schools (CLES) was created in 2010. The umbrella brand, California League of Schools (CLS), was also established in 2010 to reflect the organization’s focus on professional development topics and services that meet and span the needs of K-12 educators. Since 2015, under the leadership of executive director Scott Steele, CLS has presented K-12 conferences solely under the California League of Schools brand.

CLS Regions

(Regions are by school county)

Region 1
Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma
Region 2
Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Pumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
Region 3
Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba
Region 4
Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano
Region 5
Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz
Region 6
Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne
Region 7
Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare
Region 8
Los Angeles
Region 9
Imperial, San Diego
Region 10
Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino
Region 11 Orange, Los Angeles
Region 12
San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura